Dunklin County Voters Overwhelmingly Approve Marijuana Tax


Dunklin County voters went to the polls yesterday and decided several municipal and school races. There were a handful of marijuana tax propositions on the ballot. County wide, voters overwhelmingly approved the tax, 1686 to 714.

In Kennett, incumbent Ward 4 Councilman Steve Panousis won re-election, getting 151 votes. Juan Toscano received 55 votes, Scott Hamlett 14 and Brittany Jenkins 4.

Bob Young is the new member of the Council in Ward 5. He received 118 votes – Samantha Sebastian 39, Brandon Davis 35.

Kennett voters overwhelmingly approved the 3-cent sales tax on retail marijuana sales – 627-109.

In Malden, school board winners were Jeremy Holloway with 448 votes and Benjamin Brown with 311. Lynette Jenkins received 271 votes. The Ward 1 winner was Rose Downs with 50 votes to Tomorro Antwine’s 32. Robert House took Ward 2 with 51 votes to Nollie Smith-Burnett’s 32. The winner in Ward 3 was Harold Jones, a 97-82 winner over Charles Dierks.

In a close race in Campell, the Ward 2 alderman race was won by Bryan McClendon, who received 36 votes to Cary Whorton’s 31. Junior Brown received 6 votes. The school board winners were Dalton Ezell with 182 votes and Bryan Durham 155. Shawn Belcher was just outside with 153 votes.

Eunice Diane Riley won the Clarkton mayor’s race – 131-25 over Clinton Ray Vannasdall Jr. David Dillard was elected police chief – 116-44 over Jason Cradduck. Voters in Clarkton approved a use tax 115-43.

In Holcomb, Jerry Young was elected mayor. He received 53 votes to Ricky Peters’ 35. The two winners for Holcomb School Board were Rex McElwrath with 177 votes and Austin Davidson with 129. Daniel McNabb received 95 votes.

The three winners for Senath-Hornersville School Board are Dustin Jackson with 264 votes, Robby Shrum with 233, and Bart Branum who received 206 votes. Kristina Reed received 175 votes. Senath voters easily passed the marijuana tax by a 112-27 margin.